Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House

The Sydney Opera House is a multi-venue performing arts centre in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Situated on Bennelong Point in Sydney Harbour, close to the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the facility is adjacent to the Sydney central business district and the Royal Botanic Gardens, between Sydney and Farm Coves.

Designed by Danish architect Jørn Utzon, the facility formally opened on 20 October 1973 after a gestation beginning with Utzon’s 1957 selection as winner of an international design competition. The NSW Government, led by Premier Joseph Cahill, authorised work to begin in 1958, with Utzon directing construction. The government’s decision to build Utzon’s design is often overshadowed by circumstances that followed, including cost and scheduling overruns as well as the architect’s ultimate resignation.

Though its name suggests a single venue, the project comprises multiple performance venues which together are among the busiest performing arts centres in the world — hosting over 1,500 performances each year attended by some 1.2 million people. The venues produce and present a wide range of in-house productions and accommodate numerous performing arts companies, including four key resident companies: Opera Australia, The Australian Ballet, the Sydney Theatre Company and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. As one of the most popular visitor attractions in Australia, more than seven million people visit the site each year, with 300,000 people participating annually in a guided tour of the facility.

Identified as one of the 20th century’s most distinctive buildings and one of the most famous performing arts centres in the world, the facility is managed by the Sydney Opera House Trust, under the auspices of the New South Wales Ministry of the Arts.

The Sydney Opera House became a UNESCO World Heritage Site on 28 June 2007.[

The Sydney Opera House is a multi-venue performing arts centre in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.

Recommended world heritage video

  1. Tasmanian Wilderness

    Tasmanian Wilderness

  2. Mount Aspiring National Park

    Mount Aspiring National Park

  3. Fraser Island

    Fraser Island

  1. Mount Barney National Park

    Mount Barney National Park

  2. Chief Roi Mata’s Domain

    Chief Roi Mata’s Domain

  3. Rock Islands Southern Lagoon

    Rock Islands Southern Lagoon

  1. Wet Tropics of Queensland

    Wet Tropics of Queensland

  2. Tongariro National Park

    Tongariro National Park

  3. Kakadu National Park

    Kakadu National Park

  1. Southwest National Park

    Southwest National Park

  2. Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand

    Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand

  3. Greater Blue Mountains Area

    Greater Blue Mountains Area

  1. Levuka Historical Port Town

    Levuka Historical Port Town

  2. Bikini Atoll, nuclear tests site

    Bikini Atoll, nuclear tests site

  3. Kata Tjuta

    Kata Tjuta

  1. Lord Howe Island Group

    Lord Howe Island Group

  2. Great Barrier Reef

    Great Barrier Reef

  3. Purnululu National Park

    Purnululu National Park

  1. New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

    New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

  2. Shark Bay, Western Australia

    Shark Bay, Western Australia

  3. Macquarie Island

    Macquarie Island

  1. Ningaloo Coast

    Ningaloo Coast

  2. East Rennell

    East Rennell

  3. Australian Convict Sites

    Australian Convict Sites

  1. Heard and McDonald Islands

    Heard and McDonald Islands

  2. Fiordland National Park

    Fiordland National Park

  3. Kuk Early Agricultural Site

    Kuk Early Agricultural Site

  1. Gondwana Rainforests

    Gondwana Rainforests

  2. Milford Sound

    Milford Sound

facebook comments
To the Top