New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

The New Zealand Subantarctic Islands comprise the five southernmost groups of the New Zealand outlying islands. They are collectively designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Most of the islands lie near the southeast edge of the largely submerged continent centred on New Zealand called Zealandia, which was riven from Australia 60-85 million years ago and from Antarctica between 130 and 85 million years ago.

Until 1995, scientific research staff were stationed permanently at a meteorological station on Campbell Island. Since then, the islands have been uninhabited, though they are periodically visited by researchers and tourists. The islands are:

Antipodes Islands: main island, plus Bollons Island, the Windward Islands, Orde Lees Island, Leeward Island, and South Islet, plus minor rocks
Auckland Islands: Auckland Island, Adams Island, Disappointment Island, Enderby Island, Ewing Island and Rose Island, plus minor rocks
Bounty Islands: two small groups of islets, the Western Group and the Eastern Group, plus minor rocks
Campbell Island group: Campbell Island, the main island, plus several minor rocks and small islets surrounding Campbell Island, including New Zealand’s southernmost point, Jacquemart Island
The Snares: Northeast Island, High Island, Broughton Island, Alert Stack, Tahi, Rua, Toru, Wha, and Rima, plus minor rocks
They share some features with Australia’s Macquarie Island to the west.

New Zealand also has territorial claims, held in abeyance under the Antarctic Treaty System, over several islands close to the Antarctic mainland, including:

Ross Island and the rest of the Ross Archipelago
Balleny Islands: Young Island, Buckle Island, and Sturge Island, plus several smaller islets
Roosevelt Island
Scott Island and Haggits Pillar
Of these, Ross Island is inhabited by the scientific staff of several research stations, notably at McMurdo Sound and Scott Base.

Protection of reserves were strengthened in 2014, becoming the largest natural sanctuary in the nation.

The New Zealand Subantarctic Islands comprise the five southernmost groups of the New Zealand outlying islands.

Recommended world heritage video

  1. Levuka Historical Port Town

    Levuka Historical Port Town

  2. Mount Aspiring National Park

    Mount Aspiring National Park

  3. Lord Howe Island Group

    Lord Howe Island Group

  1. Bikini Atoll, nuclear tests site

    Bikini Atoll, nuclear tests site

  2. Kata Tjuta

    Kata Tjuta

  3. Southwest National Park

    Southwest National Park

  1. Greater Blue Mountains Area

    Greater Blue Mountains Area

  2. Ningaloo Coast

    Ningaloo Coast

  3. Tongariro National Park

    Tongariro National Park

  1. Heard and McDonald Islands

    Heard and McDonald Islands

  2. Macquarie Island

    Macquarie Island

  3. Purnululu National Park

    Purnululu National Park

  1. Kakadu National Park

    Kakadu National Park

  2. Kuk Early Agricultural Site

    Kuk Early Agricultural Site

  3. Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand

    Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand

  1. Fiordland National Park

    Fiordland National Park

  2. East Rennell

    East Rennell

  3. Shark Bay, Western Australia

    Shark Bay, Western Australia

  1. Milford Sound

    Milford Sound

  2. Fraser Island

    Fraser Island

  3. Gondwana Rainforests

    Gondwana Rainforests

  1. Mount Barney National Park

    Mount Barney National Park

  2. Great Barrier Reef

    Great Barrier Reef

  3. Chief Roi Mata’s Domain

    Chief Roi Mata’s Domain

  1. Sydney Opera House

    Sydney Opera House

  2. Wet Tropics of Queensland

    Wet Tropics of Queensland

  3. Australian Convict Sites

    Australian Convict Sites

  1. Rock Islands Southern Lagoon

    Rock Islands Southern Lagoon

  2. Tasmanian Wilderness

    Tasmanian Wilderness

facebook comments
To the Top